Little Green Thumbs

The Little Green Thumbs (LGT) program aims to help young people value the health of themselves, the environment and their community through active participation in a classroom garden. The grow kits, soil and seeds form an indoor garden that complement learning concepts such as where food comes from, how to grow healthy plants, sustainable food systems, community interdependence and nutrition in fun, interesting and relevant ways.


We truly believe that the Little Green Thumbs program is a vehicle that educators can use to help students learn cross curricular concepts in science, social studies, health, language arts, and math. It is also our hope that, through the gardening process, students will develop lifelong values of stewardship, and an awareness of how humans may positively interact with their surroundings.


For information and resources, please visit the Little Green Thumbs national website. 


For the school year of 2019-2020, our Little Green Thumbs program has grown to 164 classrooms. We currently have a wait list of schools for September 2020-2021 and can be contacted for sponsorship contact Maureen Foley maureen@nlfa.ca.


Click here for a list of Little Green Thumb schools 2019-20


Little Green Thumbs Schools 2019-20

Avalon Region

East Point Elementary, St. John’s Mary Queen of Peace School, St. John’s Vanier Elementary, St. John’s St. John Bosco School, St. John’s Beachy Cove Elementary, St. John’s St. Augustine's Elementary, Bell Island Holy Trinity Elementary, Torbay Roncalli Elementary, St. John’s Ecole Des Grands-Vents, St. John’s MacDonald Drive Elementary, St. John’s St. Andrew's Elementary, St. John’s Larkhall Academy, St. John’s St. Teresa's School, St. John’s St. Matthew's School, St. John’s Cowan Heights Elementary, St. John’s Hazelwood Elementary, St. John’s St. Mary's Elementary, St. John’s Mary Queen of the World School, St. John’s Goulds Elementary, Goulds Mobile Central High School, Witless Bay St. Catherine's Academy, St. Catherine's Morris Academy, Mount Pearl St. Peter's Primary- Mount Pearl, Mount Pearl Octagon Pond Elementary, Paradise Paradise Elementary, Paradise Elizabeth Park Elementary, Paradise Holy Family School, Paradise St. Edward's School, Conception Bay South Holy Redeemer Elementary, Spaniard’s Bay Coley's Point Primary, Bay Robert St. Francis School, Harbour Grace Persalvic Elementary, Victoria Woodland Elementary, Dildo Acreman Elementary, Green’s Harbour St. Anne's Academy, Dunville Whitbourne Elementary, Whitbourne

Central Region

Riverside Elementary, Clarenville Random Island Academy, Hickman’s Harbour Anthony Paddon Elementary, Musgravetown St. Mark's School, King’s Cove Catalina Elementary, Catalina Glovertown Academy, Glovertown Holy Cross School, Eastport Smallwood Academy, Gambo William Mercer Academy, Dover Fogo Island Central Academy, Fogo Island Gander Academy, Gander Memorial Academy, Botwood Lakewood Academy, Glenwood Woodland Primary, Grand Falls- Windsor Greenwood Academy, Campbellton Lewisporte Academy, Lewisporte Point Leamington Academy, Point Leamington Helen Tulk Elementary, Bishops Falls Forest Park Primary, Grand Falls-Windsor Avoca Collegiate, Badger Lakeside Academy, Buchans

Western Region

French Shore Academy, Port Saunders Brian Peckford Primary, Triton Copper Ridge Academy, Baie Verte St. Peter's Academy, Westport Hampden Academy, Hampden Valmont Academy, King’s Point Main River Academy, Pollard’s Point Mary Simms All Grade School, Main Brook White Hills Academy, St. Anthony James Cook Memorial School, Cook’s Harbour Truman Eddison Elementary, Griguet Elwood Elementary, Deer Lake Long Range Academy, Cow Head Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Corner Brook Eastside Elementary, Corner Brook J.J. Curling Elementary, Corner Brook C.C. Loughlin Elementary, Corner Brook Sacred Heart Elementary, Corner Brook Templeton Academy, Meadows Pasadena Elementary, Pasadena Stephenville Primary, Stephenville E.A. Butler All Grade School, McKay’s Our Lady of the Cape School, Cape St. George St. Thomas Aquinas School, Port au Port St. James Elementary, Port aux Basques

Labrador Region

Jens Haven Memorial School, Nain Peacock Primary, Happy Valley – Goose Bay Ecole Boreale, Happy Valley- Goose Bay JR Smallwood Middle School, Walbush Eric G. Lambert School, Churchill Falls AP Low Primary, Labrador City

Little Green Sprouts Schools 2019-20

Avalon Region

Mary Queen of the World School, St. John’s Elizabeth Park Elementary, St. John’s Ecole Des Grands-Vent, St. John’s Admirals Academy, Conception Bay South All Hallows Elementary, North River Beachy Cove Elementary, St. John’s St. Teresa's School, St. John’s St. Edward's School, Conception Bay South St. Andrew's Elementary, St. John’s Hazelwood Elementary, St. John’s Holy Family School, Paradise Holy Cross Elementary, Holyrood Jakeman All Grade School, Trout River Holy Redeemer Elementary, Spaniard’s Bay Octagon Pond Elementary, Paradise St. Peter's Primary- Mount Pearl St. Mary's Elementary, St. John’s St. Matthew's School, St. John’s Paradise Elementary, Paradise

Central Region

Discovery Collegiate, Bonavista Helen Tulk Elementary, Bishop’s Fall Pheonix Academy, Carmanville Bishop White School, Port Rexton New World Island Academy, Summerford Gander Academy, Gander St. Stephen's All Grade School, Rencontre East Lake Academy, Fortune Fogo Island Central Academy, Fogo Island

Western Region

Brian Peckford Primary, Triton Pasadena Elementary, Pasadena MSB Regional Academy, Middle Arm St. Peter's Academy, Westport Eastside Elementary, Corner Brook Elwood Elementary, Deer Lake

Labrador Region

Northern Lights Academy, Rigolet

Contact Us

NL Federation of Agriculture
1147 Topsail Road, Suite #4
Mount Pearl, NL
A1N 5G2


P:(709) 747-4874
F:(709) 747-8827


The Canadian Agricultural Partnership provides funding for Agriculture in the Classroom NL to promote agriculture activities to youth in Newfoundland and Labrador